Keep Your Eye on Iowa This Weekend

2 comments

wp-1468074570754.jpgAlright, let’s do this quick because we have less than 48 hours!

Here’s a look at track activity for the Verizon IndyCar Series Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway, along with the when and where so you don’t miss a thing!

This year in Iowa, we will go to a day race. While talking to fans and friends leading up to my trip, I was surprised that so many were not aware of this change. I covered the race weekend in Iowa back in 2014 and I feel in love with IndyCar under the stars. Sadly, we now only have one night race on the schedule and that’s at Texas Motor Speedway. We are looking at temperatures in the low to mid 80’s this weekend so it shouldn’t be too uncomfortable… might even be pretty prime for racing. Given that, I will wait to give my opinion on whether I want it to go back to Saturday night, but it’s a fair assessment to think I will lean that way, regardless of how the race turns out tomorrow.

Today, we have two practices, one at 10:00 a.m CT/11:00 a.m. ET for 75 minutes and the second at 6:15 p.m. CT/7:15 p.m. ET for 30 minutes. Practices will not have television coverage so if you want to watch and/or listen live, here are your options.

Qualifying for the Iowa Corn 300 will be in the two-lap average format and will be broadcast live on NBCSN at 2:00 p.m. CT/3:00 p.m. ET. The Verizon P1 Award will be battled for by a field of 22 drivers, 4 of which have achieved the feat in the past. Helio Castroneves and Will Power of Team Penske, Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing, and Takuma Sato of A.J. Foyt Racing have all sat on the pole here at Iowa Speedway in years past. Team Penske has won all the Verizon P1 Awards this season except for two races – James Hinchcliffe of SPM took it for the Indianapolis 500 and Carlos Munoz of Andretti Autosport took it for the Firestone 600 – so odds are looking good for Team Penske today in Iowa.

Tomorrow is another beast though. A Chevrolet hasn’t won the IndyCar race since 2013 when James Hinchcliffe came out victorious for Andretti Autosport. This track is not only a Honda favorite in recent years and an Andretti favorite even longer, but also a recent favorite for Ryan Hunter-Reay, the defending race winner. He defended his title last year successfully and will be going for three in a row at Iowa Speedway this weekend. Hunter-Reay also stood atop the podium in 2012 with Andretti Autosport, but that initial win for the American was with Chevrolet power.

The Iowa Corn 300 will go green on Sunday, July 10th at approximately 4:40 p.m. CT/5:40 p.m. ET, with an NBCSN broadcast from 4:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. CT and 5:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. ET.

***

Follow Shay on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram
Follow Live Full Throttle on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram

2 comments on “Keep Your Eye on Iowa This Weekend”

Comments are closed.